Eat & burn it off!

On Friday we had a bake off at work…kind of? It was between myself and one other person. I wanted to make something involving chocolate. I found this recipe. It was delicious! I think I would change it slightly, although I’m not sure how. While it was really good, I thought it needed something to make it a little bit more moist. I also didn’t use blackberry preserves in the middle. I recommend doing it though! The only reason I didn’t was because I didn’t think people at work would like it based off a previous experience.

This was the final result:

Blackberry Wine Chocolate Cake

 

Of course you can’t eat that without feeling a little guilty. So, the next day I did two runs.

I’m not saying that you should run every single time you eat something poorly, but doing it every now and then isn’t a bad idea. Not interested in running that much? Any cardio is good cardio! It might be worth it to find a run you would be interested in though. In Jacksonville, 1st place sports is awesome to find and sign up for races. I’ve also used Active to find a 5k or two.

First up was a mud run that I was actually talked into by a friend. It involved some obstacles, but it was a good time.

End of the race

If you want to try something new, it’s not a bad idea. Make sure to train! I didn’t train like I should have. It took me longer to complete than I thought it would, but I was a dirty mess afterwards. Thankfully the weather cooperated enough so it wasn’t freezing, but the water was cold!

In the evening I did the Festival of Lights 5k which I absolutely loved! San Marco was gorgeous and the residents were really supportive. The weather was cooler since it was dark outside. Next year I really want to decorate myself with lights like other people did. Some people were incredibly imaginative.

IMG_4869

IMG_4896

Remember: you can always walk a 5k! If you think you’re not ready, don’t worry. No one is there to judge you and some people decide to walk the entire time. Looking for ways to train? These apps helped me train:

C25K: The link is to the free version. I used it to start training. While there are quite a few couch to 5k apps out there, I liked this one the best. You get badges as you complete runs and you can still use your music. All in all a nice app to start out with. I even bought the full version in order to keep increasing my runs.

Nike+ Running: I love that athletes cheer you on! I use this app on runs now because it keeps track of your progress over time. I run with my iPhone and I can lock the phone from the app, but the stats and times still stay on the screen. Music works in the background and I really have no complaints about it. Additionally, I absolutely love the ability to share runs on twitter.

If anyone is interested in meeting up at a run, I’m all in! This weekend involved my last races of the year. See you at runs in 2013!

One thought on “Eat & burn it off!

  1. Tiffany says:

    Fierce! Maybe we should actually meet up one day before the run lol.

    I feel the same way about balance. I think exercise is for health and stress relief but also to allow you to enjoy food responsibly.

    Great job!

Leave a Reply

