Thirteen for 2013

I can honestly say that I have no idea where 2012 went. Literally…yesterday I was graduating college (or that was 2011 really), but then all of a sudden it turns into December 31, 2012 and I haven’t the slightest clue what I did for the past year. Really, there are a lot of things that happened this year, like getting a job and traveling and whatever else, which isn’t what this post is about. This is about gearing up for a new year! I know resolutions are sometimes silly and there aren’t many people who keep them, but I believe that if you set little goals, you can achieve them. So here’s to thirteen things to do in 2013.

  1. Get into grad school.
    I almost put “apply to grad school,” but that’s not what I want. Plus, I could essentially apply to a million schools. What I really want is to get into school. So there…that’s number one.
  2. Eat well.
    I like food. I like cookies, cake, and straight sugar. That’s a lie. I don’t eat straight sugar. I don’t necessarily want to cut out the things that are bad for me, but I’d like to be conscious about what I eat and intake. Health is good.
  3. Keep working out.
    I’ve been working on this, so I just want to remain consistent. As long as I’m healthy, there are no excuses.
  4. Take a social break.
    My first break will actually be coming up soon! From January 4-January 11th I’ll be taking a social break. No TV, magazines, video games, Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook. Sometimes it’s just a good idea to break free for a bit. During this week I’ll focus on running, reading, and focus on me a little. If this first week goes well enough, I’ll dedicate a week a month to this. I actually was given the idea because of someone I follow on Twitter/met in Austin for F1.
  5. A run or two…or twelve!
    This one I’m actually quite excited about! I want to participate in an organized run a month. My first one in January will be The First Annual 5K Healthy, Fit & Smart Run. I’ll probably follow that up with the Daily’s Ortega River Run and then I’ll be off to the GATE River Run. That gives me my first three! Hopefully there are no injuries…
  6. Read 35.
    In 2011 and 2012 I set my goodreads goal at 35. In 2011 I missed this goal by one. This year, I missed it by a lot. For 2013, I am doing this! I’m a book worm, I want to read these books. It’s time to start.
  7. Take a cake decorating class.
    This is to just add to a hobby I really enjoy. I think it would be a fun experience and I have always put it off. I think it’s important to just go ahead and do it this year.
  8. Go outside.
    Sometimes I tend to keep myself inside and be a hermit. Since I live in the sunshine state, there’s really no reason why I should be inside all the time. Some of this will be taken care of with a run once a month and training, but even reading can be done outside more.
  9. Travel.
    I’m sure at some point I should ask myself how much time I really have to commit to things, but I LOVE to travel. Whether it’s driving to Orlando for the night or flying somewhere, I really don’t mind. I really just like getting out and doing things. Sometimes it’s nice to even go and relax somewhere else.
  10. Don’t stay mad.
    Sometimes we have these moments, whether they are rational or irrational, and we stay mad about a situation, idea, or at a person. These moments sometimes linger within us, and it’s not good for you. This year, I’ll work on letting go of both small and big moments. No harboring anger!
  11. Blog, blog, blog!
    In 2012 I disregarded the blog a bit. With a new job, I really focused on work. I neglected the blog and now I’m starting it up again! I have all kinds of things to blog about and am really excited to get this blog back up on its feet.
  12. Take more pictures.
    I really like being a little creative. I’ve really put that off in order to focus on the rest of life. I enjoy taking pictures and editing them and just seeing what I end up with. I’d like to incorporate some of that into my blog and everyday life.
  13. Smile, smile, smile!
    This is life! And the only one. Everyday I’ll take a moment to remember that. It’s a very small and simple step.

Whatever it is you’re doing this year, make it a good one! Resolutions aren’t always important, but sometimes we need to make changes. Better late than never!

4 thoughts on “Thirteen for 2013

  1. Hanna says:

    It scares me how much we think alike! I’m with you on at least half of your list. I’ve been slowly accumulating the supplies for a cake decorating class – if you don’t take your mom up on her offer, maybe we can take it together.

Leave a Reply

