Southwestern Chopped Chicken Salad

When I get a little bored I like to make things. Over the past few years, this has translated into making food. There are multiple pros and cons to this, especially when it tends to lead to see how many things I can put together involving cookie dough. I have a lot of pins under my “nom nom” tab on Pinterest. Scrolling through them, it’s really easy to see that I like most things with chocolate. Sprinkled in though, there are some quality healthy recipes that I’ve really wanted to try. Instead of picking out a cake for once, I went ahead an picked a Southwestern Chopped Chicken Salad, which was originally posted on a blog titled Greens and Chocolate

salad

The picture is everything together minus the chicken and the dressing. To be completely honest, I was drooling already.

The recipe, from Greens and Chocolate:

salad:
2 cups shredded chicken
1 green bell pepper, diced
1 can black beans, rinsed
1 can sweet yellow corn (or 1 cup frozen corn, thawed)
2 roma tomatoes, diced
4 green onions, sliced
1 head ice berg lettuce, washed and chopped
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
2 ripe avocados, diced
1 cup crushed tortilla chips

dressing:
1/2 cup mayonnaise
2/3 cup Greek yogurt
1 tbsp ranch seasoning
1 tbsp taco seasoning

Pretty basic, mix everything together minus the tortilla chips. I used scoops, so I never mixed those. Definitely used them as my fork 🙂

Then mix the dressing together. Pour about half onto the salad and then mix more to taste. I didn’t mix the dressing with the salad all at once since I knew I wouldn’t be eating it all at the same time. I needed to make sure the lettuce wouldn’t become soggy while it waited for me to eat it again.

I’m not a fan of black beans and I really loved this. If there’s anything you’re not sure of, substitute! It’s really that good.

food

Leave a Reply

