From Scratch Vanilla Cake

I had a task of finding a yellow cake to make from scratch for my boyfriends birthday. I wasn’t entirely sure that it was possible, since I’ve only ever seen a yellow cake that’s been made from a box. I utilized some crazy simple google searching and came across a yellow cake recipe from the Smitten Kitchen. I’ve made other recipes from the SK and I’ve really been impressed. Once I noticed that SK had a recipe,I abandoned my search and decided to try it out.

Honestly, I absolutely loved this cake. LOVED it. I made it with the original frosting (with sour cream) and everyone should honestly try it out. Even if you don’t know someone with an upcoming birthday, figure out who has a half birthday soon!

IMG_5618

Yellow Cake Recipe per Smitten Kitchen:

4 cups plus 2 tablespoons (480 grams) cake flour (not self-rising)

2 teaspoons (10 grams) baking powder1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon (5 grams) table salt2 sticks (1 cup, 1/2 pound or 225 grams) unsalted butter, softened
2 cups (400 grams) sugar
2 teaspoons (10 ml) pure vanilla extract
4 large eggs, at room temperature2 cups buttermilk (475 ml), well-shaken

Throw your oven on to 350, spray your cooking pans with PAM or line them with parchment. Mix your flour, baking powder, and baking powder in a bowl. If you choose to include salt, you’ll add it now. I don’t add salt when I don’t need to. In a mixing bowl, mix the butter and sugar. Once pale and fluffy, mix in the vanilla. Add one egg at a ti

me and scrape down the sides of the bowl before adding another egg. Once mixed and on a low speed, add the buttermilk. Divide the batter and aim to get bubbles out before putting the pans in the oven. Throw these bad boys in the oven for about 35 – 40 minutes.

IMG_5619

Frosting recipe per Smitten Kitchen:

15 ounces semisweet or bittersweet chocolate, chopped
2 1/4 cups sour cream, at room temperature
1/4 to 1/2 cup light corn syrup
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

 

Make sure your sour cream is at room temperature and then start! Melt the chocolate (either on the stove or in the microwave), then cool off for a very short amount of time. In a bowl, whisk together sour cream, corn syrup, and vanilla extract. Cool in the fridge until it becomes spreadable. Seriously amazing!

IMG_5624

Leave a Reply

