pdo Sporteer [Review]

While I’m not a crazy serious runner, I have picked it up in the past 6 months – I blame a friend of mine- and since we are planning 15K’s and half marathons so I’ve been opened up to this entirely new world of buying things I “need”. Recently, I decided I needed running headphones since every time I told someone I didn’t run with music, he or she would gasp in horror. Seriously. That started my quest and I ended up with some insanely awesome Adidas Sennheiser CX680 Sports.

It turns out that running with your phone in your hand just to listen to music is kind of a pain in the ass. I figured that would be an issue so I have been on the search for an iPhone 5 armband. Every site seems to have a million types of reviews and are very personal preference, but I ended up seeing the most positive reviews for the pdo Sporteer. Most of the reviews were for the iPhone 4 armband, but after checking out the website, I didn’t think that there were a lot of variances (obviously they had to change where the headphone jack hole is) and decided to bite the bullet.

pdo Sporteer with the Amphipod belt in the background. I'll review that soon!

pdo Sporteer with the Amphipod belt in the background. I’ll review that soon!

This is where my experience is insanely good. I went online and purchased the small/medium based on other people’s sizing reviews. When I went to the site, it said if I liked them on Facebook I would get 5% off my order. Not a problem. Then I wasn’t charged tax or shipping on my under $25 purchase. I like that. I had placed my order right before I went to work. For those of you that don’t know, I work an odd shift, so I placed my order around 3:30PM. Before 5PM that day, I had an email stating that my card was charged and the purchase had shipped. That is so productive. A day and a half later, I had my product in hand and I’m only left thinking, why aren’t other companies like that??

Then I tested out the product itself. It has a nice little slot for personal items (key, ID card, cash) and of course the section for the iPhone. I did have to take my iPhone out of the case to use it, but my phone fits very nicely in it. I really don’t feel uncomfortable with it in there. When I put the armband on, the size was right for me. Once I put it on, I didn’t have to adjust it while I was running. It was really hot and humid on my first test, so the armband was drenched in sweat. None of my sweat touched the iPhone though, and that’s what I care about the most.

There were a few things I didn’t like, but I don’t think it is due to the case itself, I think it’s just Florida heat related. My phone got incredibly hot, but then again it usually did when it was hot and humid and in my hand. I also had a difficult time getting the phone out because the humidity had made the plastic front stick to the phone. This problem I know is easily fixed by putting a screen protector on your phone; I know this from working at a cell phone store. To speak more praise about the company, pdo did actually include two screen protectors in my order for free. The third thing that I didn’t like was that I couldn’t really see the screen while I was running. Again, this isn’t a negative regarding the case. Between the glare of the sun and the way I have Nike+ set up, it just wasn’t working. I probably don’t need to obsess over my Nike+ as much when I run anyway.

All in all, I love the case and I loved my experience with pdo. If you’re looking for an armband, I highly recommend them. They sell other accessories, too!

As I use the case on more running events, I’ll update to keep you in the loop of how it’s doing. In the mean time, I still need running music! What do you listen to while you run?

My first event using the armband!

My first event using the armband!

Leave a Reply

