Whole Wheat Greek Yogurt Banana Bread

I have whole wheat flour in my cupboard that I’ve been looking up recipes for since the whole wheat flour actually has a shelf life. Coincidentally, I also had some bananas that needed throwing into something before I either had to freeze them or throw them out. With that in mind, all you really have to throw into Google is “whole wheat flour” and “bananas” and of course you’ll end up with a nice long list of recipes calling for both.

Normally I roam Pinterest, but Google really hit the spot. Even better, I found a Pillsbury recipe, making this my first post about food that’s not socially found! I did change the recipe a little bit, so feel free to use the Pillsbury link I provided, or mine below!

IMG_6057

Ingredients:

 

  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup ripe mashed bananas
  • 6 oz fat free Greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup Vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional, can also be replaced with nuts)

Heat the oven to 350 F. In a large bowl, mix together all the ingredients other than the chocolate chips (or nuts). Gently mix in chocolate chips. Pour batter into the pan(s). Bake for 45 – 55 minutes (mine were about 47). Stick a toothpick or knife in the middle to make sure it’s cooked through. Enjoy!

IMG_6063

PS: For anyone that’s on Vine, I have a short little video on there of these being made! Find me: daisyfrancesca

 

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Greek Yogurt Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

