JJ’s Bistros

JJ'sOh, I really do enjoy food. And brunch is a pretty good food category. You can’t really go wrong with brunch. Not feeling breakfast? Then have lunch. Not feeling lunch? Go breakfast. Need a drink? Totally fine, because it’s brunch!!

So then you end up at JJ’s Bistros after your book club meeting and you think to yourself: “I must have been a good person this week if it led me here.”

Unfortunately, my week had been awful, but JJ’s wasn’t judging. They were going to cheer me up!

This place, is so cute. They have two locations, but the one I visited is on Gate Parkway. It looks much smaller than it is and I love what they’ve done with the place. It’s so quaint and utterly adorable.

I went ahead and had some Sangria, and my friend had a mimosa. You can’t really go wrong when you switch drinks for a bit anyway. Then we both requested the special of the day which included a biscuit with parmesan crusted chicken, a poached egg, and hollandaise sauce with a side of fruit. My mouth was so happy and it didn’t even know what was coming later. Honestly, I’m not a fan of hollandaise sauce or the whole chicken and biscuit thing, but damn. The biscuit was perfectly flaky and slightly sweet. The chicken was the furthest thing from fried. I felt vaguely healthy. The eggs were perfection and the hollandaise sauce just complimented everything so well. The fruit was good too, but at that point, I didn’t care whatsoever.

Then the dessert menu is delivered. That’s right, delivered. It’s on a board because there are so many. I gravitated to the chocolate peanut butter pie and my friend had a fresh fruit tart. The tart was really nice, light, and refreshing. The chocolate peanut butter pie was boss though. I’m so glad I picked it. I did have to take it home though, it was an insanely generous slice. Can’t say no to that!

I felt like I had to be rolled out of there, and it was probably all my calories for a week, but I’d definitely go back, and I think you should go there, too!

 

Leave a Reply

