I Cheated on Starbucks with Dunkin Donuts…& I liked it.

Thanks to Dunkin Donuts North East Florida I have a pretty mug that says “Florida runs on Dunkin.” Yesterday, I definitely ran on Dunkin – for the first time.

Florida runs on Dunkin!

Florida runs on Dunkin!

For those of you that don’t know, I love twitter. I’ll say it all day long. Twitter yet again created an opportunity for me when I was invited to a Dunkin Donuts taste testing. I was elated. I love events where I’m allowed to be attached to my phone! Tweet and eat!? Never have to ask me twice. The only issue? I don’t like donuts and I don’t drink coffee. If you see my previous Starbucks purchases, they are all tea and an occasional snack. I am always up for something new though so I told myself I’d try everything I could.

Boy did I.

First of all, the Dunkin Donuts we went to is gorgeous! There’s a conference room inside and a business meeting was occurring while we were there – definitely a great use of space. It’s still private but everyone can get coffee and work without being interrupted. Awesome concept.

The people I met were so cool. I honestly have no idea how I ended up there since everyone actually blogged for someone or something. Since I just blog for myself I was even more excited. I was asked for my card and I kicked myself for not having any, but I’m about to redo the blog so I guess that’s just a growing pain! Either way, so neat! Totally felt in my element since everyone was taking pictures, notes, and stuck on their phones. My kind of people!

& the food. & the drinks. Sigh.

Turkey Sausage, Egg, and Cheese on an English Muffin

Turkey Sausage, Egg, and Cheese on an English Muffin

I was pleasantly surprised with everything we were given. I’ve never really been a Dunkin Donuts visitor. There have been times that I’ve gone to Baskin Robbins after work because I know it’s open late. But guess what?! Dunkin Donuts offers any of their food at any time. So if you want breakfast whenever, this is definitely a great option. Dunkin Donuts also introduced their Glazed Donut Breakfast Sandwich. I know what you’re thinking: too many calories, it can’t be good for you. Well, it’s actually only 360 calories?! I couldn’t believe it. You can switch out the bacon for turkey sausage as well, but that does change the calorie count. I was really intrigued by this sandwich. I had half and I’m not sure I could eat an entire one, but I urge you to check it out!

The Glazed Donut Breakfast Sandwich

The Glazed Donut Breakfast Sandwich

If you want lunch food whenever, there are options for that, too. There’s a chicken bacon ranch sandwich and a BBQ sandwich.

Chicken, bacon, ranch, and cheese!

Chicken, bacon, ranch, and cheese!

BBQ Chicken

BBQ Chicken

& Oh the drinks! Baskin Robbins and Dunkin definitely did well with the cross branding here. We tried the Mint Chocolate Chip and the Butter Pecan Coffees. The Mint Chocolate Chip was hot which was perfect since the weather was miserable; tropical storm Andrea didn’t keep me away! The Butter Pecan was iced. You can customize all the Dunkin drinks so you can switch it all up. Apparently Butter Pecan is the fan favorite, but I preferred the Mint Chocolate Chip. Like I said, I don’t like coffee and the Mint Chocolate Chip didn’t taste like coffee at all. Right up my alley!

Baskin Robbins infused my coffee with Mint Chocolate Chip!

Baskin Robbins infused my coffee with Mint Chocolate Chip! (& a Key Lime Donut)

What’s even better is that Jacksonville was the test market for the Baskin Robbins infused flavors! Since they did well, they were expanded throughout. You’re welcome, America! Massive props to the 904! A fun little fact: all Dunkin Donuts coffee is either a dark roast or an original roast and then the flavor is added to make the perfect flavor.

Butter Pecan iced coffee with the turkey sausage sandwich!

Butter Pecan iced coffee with the turkey sausage sandwich! (& a lemonade donut!)

Dunkin Donuts is definitely all about variety and offering their customers and many options as possible. Not only was that discussed, but I really got that vibe from the experience. Of course I had to ask about fiber content – my mother would be so proud. All sandwiches can be changed to be on a whole wheat bagel, of course this changes the calorie count. However, recipes are in the works for more fiber rich and whole grain menu items. Additionally, gluten free menu items are being thought up. I can’t tell you how excited this answer made me. I love seeing companies listen to the consumer and Dunkin Donuts is definitely doing that.

A Red Velvet Ice Cream Cake Bite

A Red Velvet Ice Cream Cake Bite

I really had a great time with fellow Jacksonville foodies with Dunkin Donuts. Learning about them was really interesting and trying their food gave me an opportunity to embrace the company. My experience has made me a customer, and I’ll definitely be going back. Plus, just looking at that Ice Cream Cake Bite makes my mouth water. It was just so yummy and I love sweets!

Donut Burgers! & only $1.99!

Donut Burgers! & only $1.99!

Remember, June 7 is National Donut Day! Head to Dunkin Donuts, buy ANY drink (including a soda!) and get a free donut! What are you waiting for?!!?

The reason I was hyped all day! Very Berry Coolatta, Frozen Hot Chocolate, Mint Chocolate Chip Coffee, and a Hazelnut Coffee!

The reason I was hyped all day! Very Berry Coolatta, Frozen Hot Chocolate, Mint Chocolate Chip Coffee, and a Hazelnut Coffee!

Leave a Reply

