Delicious Spicy Black Bean Burgers

Black bean burgers are an overall healthier way to eat a burger, but I had a really hard time getting into them. If I went to a restaurant, they were good. If I bought them in the freezer section of the supermarket, they were terrible. Either way I remained loyal to the ground beef burger because they are the most consistent anywhere you go – in America at least. I started roaming the Internet to find a good recipe for a hearty black bean burger. It didn’t take me long to stumble upon EatLiveRun and her version of the “Boyfriend-Approved Spicy Black Bean Burger.” Since most people tell me my attitude is more like a guy, I figured that this would be perfect.

And it was.

Incredibly easy to make. Mine made a tad more than hers did, or maybe my patties were a bit smaller, but either way I ended up freezing some. I made them as big as I could for a nice bun to burger ratio.

I highly recommend these burgers. They are delicious. I didn’t takes as awesome pictures when I was making them, so definitely check out the EatLiveRun post, because it’s gorgeous!

Screen Shot 2013-06-10 at 9.36.33 AM

Ingredients:

  • Two cans of black beans
  • 1 tbsp flax with 3 tbsp’s water
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded and chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp’s tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 cup corn
  • Avocado, for topping if desired
  • Olive oil for frying the burgers

Directions:

  1. Add the jalapeño and garlic cloves in a food processor and mince. Add one can of the beans and the cumin to the mix and pulse the processor. I had already combined the black beans into a single bowl, so I guessed half of the beans and threw them in there.
  2. In a small bowl, combine the flax and water. Let sit for about five minutes.
  3. Place the processed mix into a bowl and add bread crumbs, tomato sauce, flax and corn. Once combined, mix in the remaining black beans.
  4. Make those patties! Mine made four normal size and one really big one. If you’re going to eat them immediately, put some olive oil on a skillet with medium heat. Put the patty on for about four minutes and then flip it for another 4 minutes – it should be golden brown on both sides. Put the burger on a bun and top it with what you like! I did avocado, lettuce, tomato, onion, ketchup and olive oil mayo. If you’re going to freeze them put wax paper between them and then in either a freezer ziploc or a tupperware.
  5. Enjoy!!!
Black bean burgers!

Black bean burgers!

Leave a Reply

