Cinnamon Honey Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Another banana bread. You must think I’m crazy.

My love for banana bread comes from my mum. She’s made this for as long as I can remember. I love her recipe, but I really like finding others and trying them out. It probably helps that I have some wheat flour I’m trying to use and there are a million whole wheat flour banana bread recipes out there.

This one I slightly adapted from Cookie+Kate. I basically just added more cinnamon in order to bring out the flavor – and scent – a little more. This bread made my house smell so delicious with the mix of banana and cinnamon. Even if you don’t like bread, I’d still make it!

Cinnamon Honey Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Cinnamon Honey Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup mashed bananas
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon, plus cinnamon to swirl on top
  • 1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup hot water

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 F and grease loaf pan. I use small loafs pans in order to make several small versions of this recipe, but a larger one works just as well.
  2. In a large bowl beat the oil and honey together. Once combined, add the eggs and beat well.
  3. Mix in the bananas, vanilla, and cinnamon.
  4. Stir in the flour just until the mixture has combined.
  5. Add baking soda to the hot water. Pour water into the mixture and briefly combine.
  6. Pour batter into the loaf pan(s) evenly.
  7. Sprinkle the top with cinnamon and swirl with a toothpick or knife.
  8. Bake for 60 to 65 minutes. Be sure to stick a knife in the middle to make sure the bread is cooked. The knife should come out clean. Place the bread on a wire rack to cool. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

