Weekend Read: “The Ocean at the End of the Lane”

My goodreads isn’t very happy with me. I’m five books behind on my goal for the year, and with school and work I’m not sure that I’ll be able to catch up.

I’m still determined, read on!

This book is part of our local book club. I love my book club because every book that has been chosen has been one I’d never have picked on my own.

I’ll treat this post like I have in the past with a two sentence quotation.

Which leads me to The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman.

She really was pretty, for a grown-up, but when you are seven, beauty is an abstraction, not an imperative. I wonder what I would have done if she had smiled at me like that now: whether I would have handed my mind or my heart or my identity to her for the asking, as my father did.

The book is short, but intense. It’s thrown me into the depths of imagination and darkness. It’s good. I hope you think it’s good, too.

20131013-110027.jpg

Leave a Reply

