DIY Running Tutu!

run DisneyI like running and I love being crafty. I’ve made a running skirt before, but this time I wanted something a little more bouncy. As my friend and I were preparing for the Disney Wine and Dine, we realized that we wanted to make tutu’s. We ditched the sequins for tulle and started making our skirts. The only issue I found is that all the tutu websites I found only addressed making tutu’s for children, or made one’s that weren’t very full. I’m pretty much a go-big-or-go-home kind of girl, so I winged it.

I used three colors because I wanted the tutu to look more dimensional. Obviously you can use as many or as few colors as you would like. What you’ll need to make this skirt:

  • elastic
  • string
  • tulle (I did two yards in each color and ended up needing more. I’d recommend maybe three yards of each color.)
  • scissors
  • measuring tape
  • a stool or something like it

If you haven’t done the elastic before, check out my Running Skirt blog, it’s really simple! A word of advice: make the elastic smaller than you are. Mine stretched about three inches while I made the tutu, so I had to cut and sew the elastic again.

You can start to get more creative as you go with the next step. I made my strips 3 inches wide and 18 inches long. Really the rule with this is to double the length you want (I picked 8 inches) and then add two more inches. You’ll need the two inches to accommodate wrapping the tulle around the elastic.

The fun part! My friend, Blair, cutting the tulle.

The fun part! My friend, Blair, cutting the tulle.

Once cut, take your three strips and fold them to be the same length. I put my darkest color on top, the lighter color in the middle, and then the lightest color on the bottom. Once folded, the lightest color ends up in the middle. My lightest color had glitter on it, so I was sold. In order to make it easier, I put the elastic around the stool.IMG_8545

Once folded, pull the ends through the hole with the elastic in between. (The picture really should make more sense than the words I just typed.)

Pull the bottom through and pull!

Pull the bottom through and pull!

Pull tightly and repeat, repeat, repeat!!

IMG_8999

The closer view!

The closer view!

Pink and Yellow!

Pink and Yellow!

You can add bows or whatever you want! Get creative and then run, run, run!!

4 thoughts on “DIY Running Tutu!

  1. Kelsey says:

    Hi. I am making one for the Super Heroes Half Marathon and I was going through how you made the tutu. How many times do I need to fold the tulle? I have 3 yards of each color. Please respond ASAP. Thank you.

    • daisyfrancesca says:

      Awesome! So I folded the tulle once and knotted it each time once. I ended up needing more tulle, but that’s also because I did the colors together for every knot; however doing it that way makes for a fuller skirt. Hopefully that helps!

  2. daisyfrancesca says:

    Kelsey, I think I may have misunderstood your question. If you were asking about the beginning steps and how many times you needed to fold the tulle, it would depend on the width of the tulle you have. I folded mine once since it got me to the 18 inches I needed. Depending on how long you want your strips you would have to measure out to the desired length. Hopefully that actually helps this time!

Leave a Reply

