Happiness: A Tagalong-Cake-Cookie-Thing

Many people count down until it’s “that” time of year. Girl Scout Cookie time. There’s an app to locate cookies. That’s slightly creepy. No? Yes? No?

Normally I am not that person, but since Pinterest exists, I’ve really become that person. I was casually roaming the website when this recipe fell into my lap. (My pretend, computer lap). Of course I had to try it.

Every Sunday (for the most part) one of my friends and I have Sunday dinner. Sometimes we chill out and make something small like tacos or a pizza (Publix pizza dough rules!) or we go all out and a get a little fancy. No matter the style we always make dessert. Its our way of simply having a good dinner once a week. This time, I made her – and then my coworkers – enjoy this special little gem. Everyone asked me what it’s called… I had no idea, so I labeled it “happiness”. Hopefully you find it to be worthy of the name.

Oh…and…I forgot to take a picture of it. Because it was delicious and I didn’t stop and think! But the blog I got the recipe from (above) took amazing pictures that I wouldn’t be able to live up to anyway! Definitely check those out!

Happiness

 

What you need:

  • A 9×13 pan
  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 box tagalongs

What you do:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. You can either line your pan with nonstick aluminum foil or wax paper or you can spray generously with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. In a bowl, mix the cake mix, butter, and egg together until a dough forms. Once it forms, spread it out into your pan. For me, this part was harder than I thought it would be, but my mind plays tricks sometimes!
  3. Top with chocolate chips. (Much simpler!)
  4. In a small bowl, mix together the condensed milk and peanut butter. Once combined, pour over the cake and chocolate chips. Spread with a spatula if needed.
  5. Top with chopped tagalongs!
  6. Bake in the oven for 23 – 25 minutes (I did mine for 23).
  7. Now for choices: I didn’t let mine cool – I topped with some ice cream and devoured it. It was delicious. I left the rest in the fridge overnight which leaves the next option: Let cool completely, cut into squares, and enjoy! Both were absolutely amazing, so you pick!
Leave a Reply

