Healthier Fast Food the Chick-Fil-A Way

I had a bad Chick-Fil-A experience once.

I never told anyone at Chick-Fil-A about my experience, I just rarely went back. Everyone stares at me in a slightly unusual way when I say that I don’t like Chick-Fil-A, but in the fast food world there are so many options that when you mess up once, it kind of sticks.

I will say that I am completely weird when it comes to chicken, too. If it looks weird, I don’t eat it. If I bite into it and it’s a bad piece of chicken and has veins everywhere, I just don’t go back. Minus the times I went back for chicken minis, but chicken minis have a lot less room for error on a teeny tiny piece of chicken.

So I didn’t go back – and some of my friends really hate when I won’t join them for lunch.

And then they found me.

And how do you turn down free food? You don’t. And man…they got me.

How do you not just love this?

How do you not just love this?

It doesn’t matter how you feel about Chick-Fil-A food or some of their corporate opinions, you have to admit that every experience is amazing. I can’t begin to think that anyone has every had a bad customer experience there (or at least at any of the ones I’ve been to). Each person that works at Chick-Fil-A makes a genuine effort to do everything he or she can do in order for the experience to be exceptional and that point was further drilled into me during my visit.

The layout!

The awesome people at Chick-Fil-A went all out for me. They went all out for all of us, but I really felt like an individual there with my own thoughts, opinions, and general conversation. Question? Answer. Drink looks like it’s semi-empty? Filled. Perfect service at the local level.

Of course there was the fun stuff, too. The items you really care about: the food.

Grilled Chicken Sandwich with the Fruit Cup

Grilled Chicken Club

Basically the company knows that people are trying to be healthier and that the grilled chicken sandwich just wasn’t on the same level as their other products. The company spent seven years (yes, seven years but eleven years to develop the actual grill) working on a solution. One thousand two hundred attempts later, the Chick-Fil-A engineers rolled out their very own recipe and it replaced the grilled chicken they were serving in all forms. Let’s also keep in mind that they invested $50 million into this rollout.

Nuggets!

Grilled Market Salad

Grilled Chicken Cool Wrap

You know what makes me happy about the grilled chicken? It actually tastes really good. On the sandwiches (served on a wheat bun) I didn’t even use a condiment. I just didn’t feel like I needed to. The chicken wasn’t dry and the flavor was on point. The chicken nuggets were actually my favorite item. The best part? Only 140 calories, but 23 grams of protein (for the 8 count). Add the fruit cup and in my opinion you have a good meal – especially if you’re avoiding carbs. I really think this is the best on the go option for anyone trying to be healthy. The sandwiches are also reasonable – the grilled chicken sandwich has 320 calories and 30 grams of protein and the grilled chicken club sandwich is 440 calories and 38 grams of protein. The fruit cup also changed, and I love the reasoning behind it. No more grapes – my niece would be devastated. I was a little weary at first because I saw blueberries floating around, but the blueberries were added because they provide antioxidants that grapes just can’t compete with. The fact that the company is thinking about even the smallest ways to make healthy decisions – I approve.

Nom Nom Nom!

I was super stuffed when I left the event and they still gave me a peach milkshake! (This was not part of the healthy menu). I really can’t be more appreciative of the experience and the Chick-Fil-A employees that I met. The experience was really worthwhile and I’ve already told my coworkers that I’ll be able to join them during lunch finally.

Thank you, Chick-Fil-A! Oh…& I love my swag bag! If you’re in the area you should definitely check out the Chick-Fil-A on Hodges and Atlantic.

Swag Bag!

Leave a Reply

