This is how you sushi roll

I’m really into trying new things, especially if they push me out of comfort zone.

I’m not trying to jump off buildings or anything, but a little something here or there is always good.

My friend @kklausser found a cool event through Jax Restaurant Reviews where we roamed to the other side of town and were able to make sushi. Let’s keep in mind that eating sushi is pretty new to me. I’ve maybe been eating it for a solid year. What does that really mean? It means I basically eat tuna and avocado. I’m not some sushi eating queen.

Screen Shot 2014-06-06 at 9.02.29 PM

So over the river and through…no woods… we went to a place that has literally existed for years and I’ve never heard of. AND IT WAS LEGIT.

The Setup!

The Setup!

Seriously, super cool! Making sushi is something I’ve never thought to do and I’m really glad I did it! I made cool things (don’t ask what they were I don’t remember!), but they were so cool about letting us getting creative. Midori Sushi & Grill was actually really neat and I’ll gladly go back. Everyone there was so nice and the sushi really was amazing, and I made it! I can’t even imagine how good it is when a professional does it. Even if you ignore everything I just said…the shrimp sauce! Omg the shrimp sauce there is just so much better than regular shrimp sauce. Probably because there are a million things in it.

All of the yum

All of the yum

Whether you have a chance to try out their sushi or just go to a sushi class, you really should! It’s always good to try new things…!

 

3 thoughts on “This is how you sushi roll

  1. Beth Anne says:

    This looks like a lot of fun! I’ve been wanting to take cooking classes for awhile. I have seen sushi classes at publix but this seems way more legit! I might have to check it out 🙂

  2. Tracy @ Cotton Pickin Cute says:

    Hi Daisy. I just love your name and of course I always think of Daisy Buchanan. 😉 I’m a fellow Jax person too! Go Jags!! I found your blog over at Starpulp and thought I’d come by and follow you I’ve only tried sushi a couple of times. I’m not real big on it, which is weird since I love raw oysters. But the class looks fun and I’m always up for trying something new.

    Anyway, it’s very nice to meet you. I hope you’ll stop by my blog Cotton Pickin Cute & visit. I have a giveaway for #PolloTropical going on right now, which ends tonight at midnight and has very low entries – which gives you great odds of winning. I’d hope you to stop by and enter if you’re interested. Here’s the link: http://cottonpickincute.blogspot.com/2014/06/grand-opening-for-new-pollo-tropical-in.html

    Have a fun weekend!

Leave a Reply

