The Golden Year.

Some people don’t like New Year’s resolutions because they think it sets them up for failure. Other people love resolutions and go semi overboard – depending on your perception.

I lean towards loving resolutions. I know I can’t always meet them – and I know some are unrealistic – but I know enough about myself to make resolutions that are attainable. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still willing to set a goal that I probably won’t meet, but how do I really know I won’t meet it? Every year I see people accomplish all kinds of things and if another person can do it… well, I can do it, too.

I turned 27 on December 27th and I’m ready for my golden year. I’ve made changes before and I’m making them again. While this isn’t quite a quarter life crisis, it’s close enough!

Bring it on, 2015.

  1. Graduate. (MBA!!!)
  2. Run one mile. Every. Single. Day.
  3. Gasparilla. (I didn’t sign up for the most insane challenge.)
  4. Abs. This is an unrealistic goal. But it’s a goal that requires a lot of work, time, and effort. This effort will lead to results regardless; it’s about an overall lifestyle change.
  5. Let go of people that ask for time, but give none.
  6. The Four Agreements. Most importantly remember that “your best is going to change from moment to moment”.
  7. Get a bike. There is so much to discover!
  8. Rest. This never happens. It needs to happen.
  9. Blog more – I treated my blog really well in 2013, but in 2014 grad school kind of took over my life. This year I’m going to balance! It can be done.
  10. Get a new job. Constant unhappiness is bad for your health.

All of these items are very self-focused and I’m sure it seems selfish. Some people might think I was selfish in 2014 – and maybe I was – but you can’t live your life for others.

Make it the best year yet! Here’s to a golden year.

One thought on “The Golden Year.

Leave a Reply

