Have a Little Whiskey [Jax]

A post about food!

It’s been awhile, hasn’t it? Run. Run. Run.

In the mean time I was able to attend an event at Whiskey Jax. When I was invited I was pretty stoked because I had only heard of Whiskey Jax in person.

First of all, let me just say: they are open late and have pretty decent specials during those times. I’m pretty sure I’d like to check out their brunch. Be warned though, their menu is pretty extensive so have fun picking.

The setup!

The setup!

How it all started: Bold City Beer Cheese Soup, I was actually quite impressed by this. I ate around the popcorn – I kind of wished it came out with a small amount of bread. Overall it was good, though! I don’t know if I would get it again, but I would recommend it to someone else. Soup isn’t my favorite thing, but it was cold and definitely hit the spot.

Bold City Beer Cheese Soup

Bold City Beer Cheese Soup

The second round: Seared Tuna. I tried it. I don’t like seared tuna so I’m not a fair judge. My friend, (@kklausser on twitter) thought it was good. She didn’t love all of the spices on it but she said it was very fresh.

Seared Tuna

Seared Tuna

Avocado fries were next! Oh so yum. Literally so amazing. They made me exceptionally happy. I ate all of them. I actually would have happily eaten everyone else’s, too. Definitely get those. Get two of them. Why not?

*Drools*

*Drools*

IMG_2234

Next up was the truffled ribeye. I wasn’t in love with it, but I’m not usually in love with a ribeye. It was also a lot more pink than I would have liked so I just don’t think this dish was meant for me. I also had a hard time with how long this dish took to come out. Yes, we had quite a few people, but it’s not like this wasn’t a planned event. I wasn’t sure how I felt about that.

IMG_2227

Finally, the fireball apple cobbler. I actually really enjoyed this. This was a completely different take on apple pie. I think it was very well executed. I ate the entire thing.

IMG_2240

Definitely check this place out. I’d like to try the brunch. And I’ll gladly go at midnight and binge eat avocado fries!!

Whiskey Jax Kitchen and Cocktails on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

