GUK [Gilbert’s Underground Kitchen]

Sometimes I think I’m seriously lucky in my food explorations. I was thinking I never post anything negative on my blog, but I really don’t have negative experiences very often. It probably helps that I roll with some great people like the Yelp Elite Crew and Nom Nom Club.

I was accepted into a Yelp Elite event for GUKΒ and what an awesome event. Not only did I get to try a huge menu selection free of charge – although we left $$ for the excellent service – but I was able to do it with a big foodie culture. Check out this setup:

IMG_4654

First Chef Kenny (@gilberts_uk) chatted with us about social media, community, and some good grub. Then he blew our minds with the menu:

Grilled Country Bread with Almond Garlic Puree & Pickled Cherries

IMG_4657Tomato Watermelon Salad

IMG_4658

Fried Green Tomato Sliders with Pimento Cheese and Baby Kale – my absolute favorite!

IMG_4659

Blackened St. Johns River Catfish

IMG_4660

FB Hot Chicken Drum – Some people thought these were too hot, but they were just right for me!

IMG_4661Drop Biscuit – (insert the emoji here with the heart eyes. DELISH)

IMG_4663

& last but not least, the key lime bread pudding & Mini Berry Soft Serve Sundae

IMG_4667 IMG_4666

I would definitely go back and I really wish I had taken more pictures of the decor! The Chef was on Top Chef and has been working the Jacksonville scene like he owns the place. Check it out! I will be back.

One thought on “GUK [Gilbert’s Underground Kitchen]

Leave a Reply

