Bonefish Grille [Jacksonville Beach]

image

My history with Bonefish is a rocky one. I’ve had hit or miss experiences, but everyone I know loves to eat there. When I received an email asking if I’d like to check out the newly renovated restaurant at the Beach I was a little hesitant. There’s no time like the present though, right? I figured that the best time for me to revisit a restaurant that I was uncertain of was when someone was giving me the chance to use $75 of their own money.

Yep, I was down.

I’m not really a steak or seafood kind of girl so I enlisted my brother and my friend Cory (I don’t think I took pictures of either of them eating) to join me.

We ordered all kinds of food – definitely went over that $75 amount and gladly paid the difference.

We started with some bread – nothing to really write about on the bread. I’m more of a bread and butter kind of girl, but olive oil has its benefits.

Mmm... Bread.

Mmm… Bread.

The guys started with a salad. My brother asked for double everything except the lettuce. If I’m going to be honest… Also get double everything. The regular salad wasn’t that exciting.

Regular salad

Regular salad

Double everything salad

Double everything salad

My brother and Cory both did steak and lobster. My brother did lobster on the steak and on the side. He was exited.

image

Cory asked for the smaller filet and requested a slightly different cook… However they switched the steaks. My brother ended up with the smaller steak and Cory ended up with the larger, less cooked one. They really didn’t care either way so neither did I.

image

I tried the pumpkin ravioli and the chicken teriyaki bowl. I didn’t like the ravioli at all. I’m not huge on pumpkin, but I’m all about trying fall things just to see if I’m missing out. [disclaimer: I do not like pumpkin spice lattes at all, but I try them at least twice in the season in the event my taste buds have changed].

Pumpkin ravioli

Pumpkin ravioli

The chicken teriyaki bowl was awesome. I liked that they offered another chicken option. It’s always good for steak and seafood places to have a couple of picky eater selections. I usually get the burger – it’s so yummy – but wanted to try the menu changes and I’m glad I did!

image

Then we tried desserts. We tried the donuts, the key lime pie, and the pumpkin soufflé. The order of liking for me was in that order. The donuts were a fun and small dessert. We each had one and it was enough. Cory really liked the key lime pie, but it was a little much for me. I didn’t love the pumpkin soufflé, but see above about my fall flavors dilemma.

image

image

image

Overall, the service was awesome. No one was pushy, the water refill was on point, and I loved that the to go boxes were labeled and dated. The new vibe is pretty awesome, too. I wish I’d taken more pictures of the vibe, but I didn’t want people to feel as if I was taking pictures of them. I’d definitely go back though! I’m interested in trying some of the fall drinks. I drove this time, so that wasn’t an option, but it’s the perfect reason to return!

image

More importantly: my brother said this meal was one of the best he’s had all year. Now I know I can keep bonefish in my plans for those times I’m hanging out with meat eaters!

One thought on “Bonefish Grille [Jacksonville Beach]

  1. Randy Roman says:

    I always enjoy your reviews. You are always succinct and direct. I like that. Have you given any thought to a link from Jaxdirect.com? I would like to promote what you do.

    Randy Roman

Leave a Reply

