SkillPop CLT + Week One Training

Traveling is always fun and moving to another city is like an extended trip. I feel the need to find everything to do and see and visit. I also like learning new things and hand lettering has been on my “to-learn” list for awhile now. So I googled “hand lettering Charlotte” and roamed until I found a class that looked interesting and wasn’t sold out.


Along came SkillPop. SkillPop basically offers all kinds of fun classes. Lettering, chocolate appreciation, bread making, blow-outs, and so much more. Seemed to be exactly what I was looking for. I signed up right away since the classes are always quick to go. By the time my class rolled around I’d already told everyone I knew in the area about SkillPop without having even been yet. And guess what? Expectations met.


The class was a ton of fun. The right amount of class with the right amount of time. I’m also very addicted. I basically left the class and made my boyfriend trek to Target with me to buy supplies.

Not only did the week invite the lettering class, but it also started my fall half marathon training. Since I’m currently signed up for three half marathons this fall and will likely sign up for one more and a shorter run, I’m actually doing things the way I should and am trying to train. Since I’ve moved I haven’t found a running group yet so I’m doing things based on one of the Disney Galloway plans. I basically picked a fall challenge that Disney does so I’d have a mostly outlined plan and goal. Threw it all into my phone and the training begins!


I did miss a day, but I made up for it the next day so I think everything seems to be going well. I’m also working on my consumption so it’s been a challenge to figure out what to eat and when in order to make this go as smoothly as possible, but I’m sure adjustments will come in time. For now, Tuesdays and Thursdays are my 30-45 minute runs and Saturdays I have a set distance. As the training calendar goes on I’ll also start adding in Sunday runs. I’m also trying to find something else to do so I can cross-train. One day at a time though and right now I’m hanging on tight!

If you have any half marathon or running tips, feel free to share! I’m always looking for new ways to keep going without getting bored.

2 thoughts on “SkillPop CLT + Week One Training

Leave a Reply

