Glamping in Asheville

Disclaimer: I’ve never been camping.

The disclaimer is necessary because it definitely influenced my experience and I don’t want to skew your thoughts of glamping just because my expectations were very off.

Anyway! Since there are nonstop flights from Jacksonville to Asheville now, my friend Kristina flew to Asheville and I met her there. Since we were feeling adventurous, we decided in try glamping instead of staying in a hotel. I actually found Asheville Glamping because they had liked a picture of mine on Instagram. So we roamed the website and landed upon the Deluxe Belle Tent. If you aren’t sure what “glamping” is, we stayed in a tent that had AC, WIFI, a bed, tv, lights, etc. There was also a full bathroom next to the tent. Basically super fancy camping.

IMG_9170

I’m not sure what my expectations were, but this was a lot closer to camping then I thought it would be. I don’t think that’s a bad thing, but there were times where it was. Because it had rained a lot the Friday I drove out, my car became stuck on the gravel headed to the glampsite. I basically bottomed out and had to then take my car to Toyota so they could pop some things back in place. It would have been a more opportune time for an SUV honestly.

IMG_9096

Also, the first night was very cool and relaxed because the rain had cooled the atmosphere off. The second night was very humid and the AC didn’t seem to impact the intense heat. Plus, the humidity brought out all of the bugs and when we left I had bug bites all over. This was basically a newbie issue though – I think I would have understood all of this if I had been glamping before!

 

I will say though, the owners were so awesome. Anytime we had a question, we emailed and received a response right away. You don’t get that everywhere and it was really appreciated. Plus, the site is very close to downtown. We didn’t feel as though we were far from the action at all. We were close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, too. So when the early sun woke us up, we drove to see some of the sun rising. Such beauty.

IMG_9180

Overall, a few learnings from the experience: I’ll go back in the cooler months. And maybe try one of the Airstreams. Or I’ll even try actually camping once or twice before I do glamping again. Either way I’ll know what I’m about to experience. The stories from my weekend there have been great to tell though, and I know quite a few people that are already looking into Asheville Glamping for a fall getaway.

 

4 thoughts on “Glamping in Asheville

Leave a Reply

