Biscuits & Gravy Casserole

It’s possible that breakfast potlucks interest me more than lunch potlucks.

This is probably because I find the breakfast potlucks more challenging. Do you use eggs? My answer is generally no because you don’t want weird or cold eggs. Or you don’t want to make too many sweet things in case other people bring sweet things. It’s a challenge. I like to be challenged. Therefore, breakfast potlucks are more interesting.

So on this particular breakfast potluck I decided I wanted to try and make biscuits and gravy in a way that would stay a little warm longer. So a casserole it was. I also needed this to be something I could make before work so making my own biscuits was kind of out of the question for this one.

I bought two cans of the Grands Biscuits – the Buttermilk kind – so that I could make this gem before work. I also bought one roll of sausage – I did the maple kind.

IMG_9326

So here’s basically what you do:

  • Turn your oven on to 400 degrees.
  • Grease a casserole dish – mine was 9×13 and I sprayed it with olive oil Pam
  • Cut one can of the biscuits into quarters and place in the casserole dish
  • Bake for about 10 minutes

IMG_9327

  • While that’s baking, cook the sausage in the frying pan. Be sure to separate into crumbles the best you can and make sure it’s fully cooked
  • Sprinkle three tablespoons of flour in the pan and stir until the flour is absorbed
  • Add 2 and 1/4 cup milk (I used whole) as well as salt and pepper to taste. Continue to stir until it has thickened to desired consistency. If the gravy gets too thick, add more milk.

IMG_9328

  • Pour over the casserole dish of biscuits
  • Cut the remaining tub of biscuits and place on the top of the sausage gravy

IMG_9329

  • Bake for ten minutes
  • Cover with aluminum foil and back for an additional 15 minutes
  • Take of oven and brush with butter or slice thin strips of butter on the top so it’s perfectly melted
  • Serve and enjoy!

IMG_9331

Leave a Reply

