Coconut Chocolate Blondies

I’m going through a coconut phase. I’m not even sure I want it to just be a phase. It all started with Coconut Chunky Chips Ahoy. Try them if you can find them. The Target near me doesn’t sell them. Neither does the Lowes Foods. Thankfully a new Publix opened up the road and they generally have them stocked. Food Lion has them, too. That was a ton of information about a store bought cookie. You could also try the Pepperidge Farm Chocolate Chunk Coconut Almond cookies. Or coconut in your sushi. Or just straight coconut on anything. You do you. I won’t judge.

A coworker of mine was a little disturbed by my obsession with my store bought cookies, especially when I can make my own so she found a recipe for me to try out from Sally’s Baking Addiction. While it’s not cookie-like, it’s a great blondie. Since I’m not a fan of brownies, it really is something I was interested in. Blondies, good. Brownies, bad. Coconut blondies…so yum!

IMG_9559

I bought all of the ingredients a week or two ago, but I wasn’t quite ready to make them for some reason. Either way, I’ve been wanting to photograph a bit more and figured this holiday weekend was the perfect excuse to break out my DSLR and really live it up on the blog. Alas, my Rebel XT battery was dead, so iPhone pictures it is. My boyfriend decided to live it up though and give me a smidge of an upgrade. Hopefully soon I’ll be uploading some awesome new pictures on a new camera!

IMG_9554

Either way – coconut all day long… If you’re needing some coconut in your life like I seem to, throw these blondies together. They are incredibly easy to make and would be perfect alone or with some ice cream.

IMG_9558

What you need:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled (I have no patience here so mine is mostly melted)
  • 1 and 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 cup shredded coconut (I used sweetened)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet)

IMG_9555

How to make it happen:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Grease a pan that’s lined with aluminum foil – I use olive oil Pam.
  2. In a bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, and salt.
  3. In a stand mixer, combine the melted butter and brown sugar. Once combined, add in the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla.
  4. Combine dry ingredients into the mix within the stand mixer. Be sure to scrape down the bowl.
  5. Once fully mixed, fold in the coconut and chocolate chips.
  6. Evenly spread the mix into the greased pan. Place in the oven for 35 minutes.
  7. Let cool and enjoy or let it cool for a small amount of time and add some ice cream!

Hopefully you like it! Nom nom nom for days!

Leave a Reply

