Cinnamon Roll Cake

When it comes to baking, I cave to peer pressure pretty quickly. Peer pressure is probably too strong of a saying actually. If someone remotely suggests I should try something, it’s usually on my to-do list. That’s pretty much what happened here. A coworker sent me a link to this Cinnamon Roll Cake. In fairness I sent her a recipe back because she bakes just as often as I do. So I basically decided to make this cake, because there’s a pie I’m wanting her to make. Almost a fair trade.Oh and I love cinnamon…so again…she basically lightly suggested it and I aimless obliged.

She’s supposed to be my helper


Similarly to the way it was made on the Cookies and Cups blog, I also went crazy on the cinnamon. Did you see, just above, how I mentioned I love cinnamon? Well there you go then. It explains why I added more. And not a single person told me it was too much for them. So I either made it perfectly, or no one gave me feedback. I’m going to assume the cake was simply perfect. I will admit though, I feel as though I could have added more cinnamon to the insane amount of frosting the recipe made. You’re always much more critical than others when it comes to the things you make yourself though. So who knows, really.


Cake ingredients:

• ¾ cup unsalted butter, room temperature

• 1½ cups granulated sugar

• ¾ cup sour cream, room temperature

• 2 teaspoons vanilla

• 6 large egg whites, divided

• 2½ cups all purpose flour

• 4 teaspoon baking powder

• 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I used three….)

• ½ teaspoon kosher salt

• ¾ cup milk, room temperature

• ¼ cup water, room temperature

Cinnamon Frosting ingredients:

• 1½ cups salted butter, room temperature

• 1½ cups vegetable shortening

• 12 cups powdered sugar, divided

• 1 teaspoon vanilla

• 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I used three….)

• ¼ cup water or milk

Cinnamon Sugar Glaze ingredients:

• 5 tablespoons powdered sugar

• 2 tablespoons light brown sugar, packed

• 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

• 2 tablespoons water

How-to!

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease the bottom of 3 (8- inch) cake pans as well as grease the sides. I used nonstick olive oil spray.

In the bowl of your stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment cream the butter and sugar together on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 4 minutes. Add the sour cream and vanilla and mix until combined. Add 3 of the egg whites and mix until well combined. Add the remaining 3 egg whites and mix until well combined. Scrape down the sides of the bowl as needed to make sure everything is combined. (I had to do this twice to get it all).

Combine the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt in a medium bowl. In a small bowl combine the milk and water. With the mixer on low speed add half of the flour mixture to the batter and mix until combined. Add the milk mixture to the batter and mix until combined. Add the remaining flour and mix until smooth, scraping the sides of the bowl as necessary.


Divide the batter evenly among the 3 cake pans. Bake for 23-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cakes comes out clean.

I didn’t try to eat a ton of the cake batter before putting it in the oven simply due to the number of egg whites. I’m glad I didn’t because the cake ends up coming out somewhat thin.

Allow the cakes to cool 2-3 minutes in the pan and then remove them from the pans onto a wire rack to cool completely.

While the cakes are in the oven, start the frosting. In the bowl of your stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment beat the butter and shortening together on medium speed until smooth. Slowly add in 6 cups of the powdered sugar and mix until smooth. Add in the vanilla, cinnamon and water or milk and mix until smooth. Slowly add the remaining 6 cups of powdered sugar and mix until smooth, scraping the sides of the bowl as necessary.

**it makes SO much frosting! So very much…

Then start on the Cinnamon Sugar Glaze!

In a small bowl whisk together powdered sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, and water until smooth. Set aside.


Once the cake is ready and cooled, use a large serrated knife to carefully remove any domes the cake formed when baking, so they’re flat. Place the first cake on a serving plate. Spread 2½ tablespoons of the glaze over the cake layer. All it to soak into the cake. Spread 1 cup of frosting onto the top of the cake. Repeat the process with the second layer of the cake, and then add the final layer of cake and frost as desired.



 

One thought on “Cinnamon Roll Cake

Leave a Reply

