Biscuits.

Remember that time I went to Asheville? Well while I was there I had some amazing biscuits at Biscuit Head. It was so yummy.


So yummy, in fact, that I preordered their cookbook on Amazon. I’d basically decided that I wanted to recreate these biscuits in my home since Asheville is far enough away that it would be frowned upon to drive there regularly just to go for breakfast.

I was so excited to get this book that I quickly attempted biscuits. The unlucky thing, however, is that I didn’t have the correct scoop size for said biscuits. I altered the time a bit, but when they came out they just weren’t as good as I had hoped. My expectations were too high. I even considered throwing them out since they just didn’t make the cut.

Instead, I put them in a Ziplock bag to think about a little more.


The thing is, when you craved something for so long, you still want it to turn out right. Maybe you might even hold on to things a little too long. I like to think that I didn’t hold on to these too long…instead the next day I went to the grocery store and came home with a little something extra to make magic happen.

When in doubt with a biscuit, add some gravy. And I’ll be honest, I’m not really into sausage gravy, but I figured it deserved a shot…and I deserved something good to eat.

So below is the recipe as shown in the cookbook along with the gravy I made to fix my mistake!

Biscuits

2.5 cups all-purpose flour
2.5 cups cake flour
3/4 tablespoon salt
1 tablespoon baking powder
8 tablespoons butter
2 cups whole buttermilk

Preheat the oven to 375 and grease a baking sheet. You’ll want to have a rack in the middle of the oven, so be mindful of rack placement. In a large mixing bowl, sift together the flour, salt, and baking powder. Snap in the butter. Add the buttermilk and stir gently. You won’t want to overtax these. Scoop the dough onto the baking sheet while keeping the dough touched together. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.

Gravy

1 pound ground sausage
1/2 teaspoon pepper
2.5 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 cups milk

Preheat a large frying pan. Place sausage into pan and break up with a spoon. While cooking, add pepper. Once cooked, add flour over the sausage. Add milk and stir. Mixture will thicken. If too thick, add more milk.

I’m never satisfied with just biscuits and gravy though, so I added a fried egg and some crispy bacon! What’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

