Chocolate Chip Blondies

Thanksgiving brings a lot of good food. Well, it doesn’t bring food. Food is just required and a lot of work goes into all that food. This year I wasn’t really sure what to make for dessert so I took a request from my boyfriend. He wanted Pecan Pie.

I’ve never made Pecan Pie. I know it’s simple, but I don’t know how to gauge a good recipe for it because I don’t like it. Not even a little bit. Regardless, I wanted to try. So I picked a recipe and we made it.

There are two reasons I ended up making Chocolate Chip Nutella Blondies:
1. The Pecan Pie wasn’t very good. (I didn’t try it, but I didn’t need to).
2. I was really bummed I didn’t have dessert.


I thought I would be okay without dessert so I originally planned on just leaving it alone and not having anything. I was solely going to leave it to carbs. My brain didn’t agree. Thankfully I already owned everything to make these blondies. So I rolled up my sleeves and got moving!


These blondies are delicious. The Nutella and chocolate chip combo is more than perfect. I would even beg to say that the cookie wasn’t so overwhelmingly sweet, either. Blondies are great, too, because they hold the awesome consistency of a baked bar – because they are – but sometimes that flavor is more tasteful than a cookie.


Try it out. Let me know what you think!


Chocolate Chip Nutella Blondies

What you need:
½ pound (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
¾ cup dark brown sugar
¾ cup white sugar
2 teaspoons pure vanilla
2 large eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
½ cup Nutella
1 cup chocolate chips

What you need to do:
1. Turn the oven on to 350 degrees.
2. Grease a pan. I just picked a conventional casserole dish that wasn’t already being used for a Thanksgiving dish. You should probably use a 8 1/2 x 12.
3. In a stand mixer, combine the butter and sugar until mixed.
4. Add eggs one at a time until mixed thoroughly. Then add the vanilla.
5. Stir in baking soda and salt. Add flour. Be sure to mix completely.
6. With a spatula, fold in chocolate chips.
7. Place half of the cookie mix into the dish and spread evenly.
8. Spread Nutella on top of the cookie mix. (I melted my Nutella 30 seconds before this step to make things a little easier.
9. Spread remaining cookie mix on top of the Nutella. It’s easiest to do this with damp hands if you’re okay getting a little dirty.
10. Bake for about 30 minutes.
11. Let cool and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

