Campfire Blossoms

I was originally going to post about tortellini minestrone – it’s really good – but a few people asked for the recipe of these campfire blossoms after I posted some pictures yesterday. 

The weather has been cold a bit grey. It’s been making me feel all kinds of blah, so I made soup to keep me warm and cookies to cheer me up.

These cookies are pretty epic. I wish I would have discovered this idea sooner.  I do think they are better warm, although you can eat them cold, too. I heated them up for about 15 seconds once they had cooled just because I liked them better that way.


I will say, these cookies really do embody a s’more. I love the addition of the grahams into the cookie and on the cookie. Who thinks of this awesomeness?? Basically Mel’s Kitchen Cafe. I modified slightly, but nothing major.


What you need:

1 1/4 cups (6 1/4 ounces) all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup butter, softened to room temperature

1/4 cup (1.75 ounces) granulated sugar

1/4 cup (1.75 ounces) light brown sugar

8 rectangular graham crackers, crushed into fine crumbs, about 1 cup

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

12 large marshmallows cut in half (or enough for however cookies you make… I ended up with 22 cookies so I only needed 11)
24 Hershey’s Kisses, unwrapped (see note above)


What to do:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease two baking sheets with cooking spray.

Using a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together the butter, sugar and 3/4 cup of the graham cracker crumbs until light and creamy. Add the egg and vanilla. Add the flour, baking powder, and baking soda.


Measure out about a tablespoon of dough and roll into a ball. Roll the cookie dough ball in the remaining graham cracker crumbs to coat lightly. This part is awesome. My favorite part of a lot of cookie-making.

Place the cookie dough on the prepared baking sheets, 12 per sheet. Bake one sheet at a time for 8-10 minutes until the cookies are just starting to crack a bit. They should still be soft. Let them cool for a minute or two on the baking sheet.


Place the marshmallows with the uncut side facing up. Switch the oven to broil – make sure the top rack is about ten inches away from top of the oven. Place the cookies back in the oven and keep a close eye on them! You don’t want to burn the marshmallows. Once toasted, take them out of the oven and quickly pop a Hershey kiss on top.


Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

