Tortellini Minestrone

I’m not a huge fan of cold weather.When I moved to Charlotte a year ago, the weather was about sixty degrees. While this was a bit chilly for my Florida self, it wasn’t nearly as cold as I discovered it would get. It also incorrectly set my expectations.

The past few weeks have been interesting. The temperature has wildly fluctuated. Who knows what to expect. For a solid four days it was about thirty degrees. As in that was the high of the day. Even within that, it didn’t get above forty. Not for me.

Desperate times call for desperate measures. I made soup. I’m not hugely into soup, but since I’ve moved there has been a lot more focus around it. I wanted something with veggies so I figured a minestrone would be nice. When I stumbled upon Tortellini Minestrone from Gimme Some Oven I decided to check it out.


I didn’t end up eating all of the soup, but this soup really made a lot. I think we did an amazing job in consuming it. It also was an actual hit in the house considering both my boyfriend and I liked it. Generally one of us is more into a recipe than the other, but I think this one actually worked for us both. I would even make it again. Plus, it is so easy to make, that it just makes sense to keep it as a staple soup in the house.

 

What you need:

• 2 tablespoons olive oil

• 1 medium white onion, peeled and diced

• 3 cloves of garlic, peeled and minced

• 2 carrots, peeled and diced

• 2 stalks celery, diced

• 4 cups of chicken or vegetable stock

• 1/4 cup tomato paste

• 2 (14.5 ounce) cans fire-roasted diced tomatoes

• 1 (15 ounce) can dark red kidney beans

• 1 zucchini, diced

• 1 yellow squash, diced

• 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning (or mix of seasonings of your choice)

• 2 handfuls fresh baby spinach

• 1 (10 ounce) package of refrigerated cheese tortellini

• salt and pepper, to taste


What you do:

• Heat the oil in a large stockpot. If you aren’t sure if your pot is big enough, it’s not. I had to switch pots in the middle because the originally pot was overflowing.

• Add in the onion and sauté for about three minutes. Add the garlic, carrots, and celery for about five more minutes.

• Add the stock – I used low sodium chicken stock – tomato paste, tomatoes, kidney beans, zucchini, yellow squash, and seasoning. Stir until combined. I didn’t have Italian Seasoning so I just mixed some seasonings in that I thought sounded good together.

• Bring the mixture to a simmer and then reduce the heat to medium-low and cover. You’ll want to simmer for another 10 minutes.

• Stir in the spinach and cheese tortellini and cook according to the instructions on the package.

• Taste and add more seasoning as needed!

I kept this in a Tupperware and portioned into mason jars as needed. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

