A Pinterest Fail-Success

So the other week we went to Asheville and had a ton of fun. Upon return, however, I found that I had quite a few bananas that were in need of becoming another type of food. I had debated turing them into banana bread, but since I had also acquired a new KitchenAid mixer for Christmas, I wanted it to be a little different. Naturally, I took to Pinterest.

Scroll. Scroll. Scroll.

Score.

I came across this recipe:

screen-shot-2017-01-24-at-8-26-41-am

The cake by which I was inspired

How pretty is that!? I was completely sold. I eyeballed the instructions and knew it was something I could pull off.

So I went ahead and got it done.


Until the ganache.

I’ve made ganache a bajillion times. I know how to do it. I still follow the directions just in case I’ll have a lapse in judgement, but there is no doubt I know how to execute.

It didn’t work at all.

The chocolate just separated. It looked disgusting sliding down the cake. There wasn’t this awesome drip, but instead looked like a slug had left a moist trail down the side. It was disgusting. If only I had taken a picture.


So I decided to throw the remaining ganache in the freezer for about 30 minutes. In the mean time, I plopped some more peanut butter frosting onto the cake and swirled the ganache in with it. I ended up with something galaxy-like. Then, once I took the ganache out of the freezer, I whipped it so I ended up with something that I could decorate with. I also ended up with chocolate everywhere in the kitchen. It was a complete mess. I then topped the cake with a few Sweetapolita sprinkles.


I personally thought that the cake was a bit too sweet, but I took it into work and received some awesome feedback, so I’ll take my fail as a success.

Side note: I personally think the icing on the side looks like the sorting hat from Harry Potter. I went and got sorted last weekend. My friend Becky tells the story on her blog

Leave a Reply

