Dinner & Dessert

A blog about two food types!?

Yes.

I thought that maybe this week I’d be a little responsible and share both dinner and dessert.

When we bought our house and were figuring out where to put things, I am across something of a gem. I must admit I didn’t consider it to be such a gem at first glance, but now I’m a believer. What did I find? An entire collection of Southern Living cookbooks. Initially I was thinking I would donate them, because what am I really supposed to do with a bunch of SL books? I really associated these books with the epitome of unhealthy food. Basically a ton of butter and a heart attack. While there may be a little bit of truth to that in some of the books, my first recipe from the book was pretty phenomenal. I did have to wing a little bit, so I’m providing both the recipe as well as my edits. I really only made edits because I didn’t have enough on hand/I don’t own a Dutch oven.


Creamy Chicken-Vegetable Chowder

2 cups chopper cooked chicken (I grabbed a cooked chicken from Sam’s and pulled the chicken off.)

1 (10 3/4 oz) can cream of potato soup, undiluted

1 (10 3/4 oz) can cream of chicken soup, undiluted 

1 (11 oz) can Mexican-style corn, undrained

1 (4.5 oz) jar sliced mushrooms, undrained

1 (4 oz) can chopped green chiles, undrained

1.5 cups milk

1 cup chicken broth

1/3 cup sliced green onions

1.5 cups shredded cheddar cheese

If you have a Dutch oven, you’ll combine everything except the cheese and cook it on medium for about 8 minutes. You’ll then add the cheese. Serve it up!


For me, since I don’t have a Dutch oven, I drained the cans of corn, mushrooms, and chiles. I put everything in a pot and heated it up for about 10 minutes. Once I took it off the stove, I added about 3/4 cup of cheese since that’s all I had left in the fridge.


So you’re enjoying your soup because it’s amazing…but it’s almost like you’re missing something.

Well a friend of mine was interested in getting hooked up with a birthday cake for her husband. She handed me some bills to pay for the ingredients and told me the only requirement was peanut butter.

I GOT YOU.

I searched the web for a good recipe, but ultimately came back to my favorite Brown Eyed Baker peanut butter cake. I’ve made this a time or two in my life. It’s so good. And honestly, this cake turned out beautifully. I would have kept it if I didn’t think Cam would have been really upset. Although it was a surprise cake…so he never would have known…right…? RIGHT???


Alas, I’m such a good person sometimes. I gave the cake up…after I’d eaten a ton of the frosting. You’ll understand when you make it. Definitely make it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

