An American Pancake

Hopefully this isn’t misleading, but this isn’t a pancake that’s red, white, and blue. And while it won’t scream ‘Merica for your Memorial Day celebration, it should, because pancakes like this don’t exist much where I’m from. Even though I’ve lived in America for more than half my life and no one really knows that I’m not from here, American pancakes have always been weird to me.


I know that everyone strives for an awesomely fluffy pancake, but I never have. I’m more into a pancake that’s more like a crepe. One that’s larger in size, but thinner overall. One you can put lemon juice and sugar on. And roll up. Yummmmm.

Either way, when my friend Kristina made a trip up I was diligent about making breakfast. One of the mornings my boyfriend rolled over and said, “you know what would be nice? Pancakes.” I beg to differ, but I did have buttermilk leftover from another recipe I’d made so I figured, why not? I made myself some bacon and eggs and got to work making pancakes.


I roamed for a recipe that looked good and used buttermilk and came across The Chunky Chef. Vanilla Cinnamon Pancakes sounded really good. Kristina isn’t into cinnamon though so I went ahead and made half with cinnamon and half without. I actually ended up eating one of the non-cinnamon pancakes with my bacon and egg in lieu of bread and I’m not going to lie…pretty legit. I actually even ended up taking the cinnamon ones to work for breakfast in the morning with some banana and strawberries.


They are super easy to make, so you should definitely try them out. And if you think I need more pancake recipes to expand my horizon to try and make me change my mind about pancakes forever…bring it on!


What you need: 

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon (even though I only made half with cinnamon, I still put the whole amount in the half. I love cinnamon though, so make your own decision here.)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • Original recipe also calls for 1/4 tsp salt. I did not add salt.

What you do:

  1. Melt the butter and set aside so it can cool down a bit.
  2. Add the flour, sugar, baking soda, and baking powder into a mixing bowl. If you’re adding salt, it will go in the bowl, too. Use a whisk to a combine the dry ingredients.
  3. In another bowl, combine the buttermilk, vanilla, cinnamon, and egg. Whisk to combine and then add the butter. Whisk again.
  4. Slowly pour the wet ingredients slowly while whisking. You don’t want to over-mix as it will mess with the fluffiness.
  5. Heat up a skillet (or a griddle if you’re fancy) over medium-low heat. Put some butter down or use some non-stick spray.
  6. Use a 1/4 or 1/3 measuring cup to spoon the batter onto the skillet.
  7. Let it cook about 2-3 minutes, then flip. I made two at a time.
  8. Move to a plate and eat, eat, eat!

Leave a Reply

