Chocolate & Coconut Cake

June was crazy with baking. Birthdays on birthdays. I had a ton of fun making new things, but it was also pretty stressful. Especially since the second cake I made fell apart completely and ended up being served in a bowl. (It still tasted awesome though). Regardless, my poop emoji cupcakes turned out so fun – and so insanely chocolate – that I wanted to try something a little bit new to me. I seriously spent a few hours searching for what I wanted to try. I knew my friend Becky liked chocolate and coconut, but every dessert that had both required some of the most random ingredients or was slated to take five hours. Then I finally hit the jackpot. I decided to make this one.


While there are a ton of steps and ingredients, it really was less than most others I could find. And while I was making the cake I had to try really hard not to become impatient. I am really glad I took each step in stride because this cake turned out so well. Swell.


I will say…I got coconut everywhere. So much coconut in so many places. Thankfully I have a Dyson that was able to claim it all. I can honestly say I don’t think I’ve filled a vacuum up with coconut before…just a ton of sugar and sprinkles!


I had some trouble getting the original recipe to load when I was making the cake, so I’ve provided it below. If you know anyone that likes chocolate and coconut – make this cake!! You’ll be amazed – and so will your friend!


What you need*:

For the cake:

  • 1 3/4 cups + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened cocoa powder (plus some for lining the pan)
  • 1 1/2 cups boiling water
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 3 sticks (1 1/2 cups) unsalted butter, room temp.
  • 2 1/2 cups + 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 3 large eggs, room temp.
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

*The original recipe calls for 1 tablespoon instant espresso. I didn’t use it.

For the filing:

  • 2/3 cup coconut cream, refrigerated
  • 4 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1 3/4 cup confectioner sugar, sifted
  • 1 cup shredded coconut

For the icing:

  • 2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, room temp.
  • 3 cups confectioner sugar, sifted
  • 1 7-ounce jar of Fluff or Marshmallow cream
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 2 cups shredded coconut, toasted to taste


What you do:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Line the three pans with parchment paper, butter the sides, and dust with cocoa powder. Dump the excess powder.
  3. In a bowl, combine the cocoa powder and boiling water. If using espresso powder, add that as well. Whisk until smooth and set aside to cool for two minutes. Once cool, add in the sour cream and vanilla. Set aside for now.
  4. Put the paddle attachment on your mixer and beat the butter on medium-high. Once smooth, blend in the sugar until fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time until mixed.
  5. In another bowl, mix the flour and baking soda.
  6. Adjust your mixer to low and add in the wet cocoa mix and the dry ingredients – be sure to alternate the additions! Once smooth, divide into the three pans.
  7. Bake the layers for 3o minutes. Make sure to rotate the pans around the 15-minute mark. Once a toothpick pulls out clean, the cake is done.
  8. Transfer to a wire rack and make sure to let the cakes cool for 30-minutes before removing the cake from the pans.
  9. Make the filling while the cake cools: Take the coconut cream (not the water at the bottom) out of the can and add to a mixing bowl with the whisk attachment. Whip for about one minute. Add the cream cheese and sugar. Once mixed, fold in the coconut.
  10. To make the frosting: Add butter to a clean mixing bowl. You’ll need to use the paddle attachment again. Add the sugar and whip until fluffy. Then, add the marshmallow fluff and heavy cream and beat for another minute.
  11. To assemble the cake: Place a cake layer on your surface of choice (mine was a cake carrier). Spread filling and then place another cake layer on top. Repeat.
  12. Place a crumb layer of the frosting around the cake. Place the cake in the refrigerator. While this is settling, toast your coconut.
  13. Continue to frost the cake once you’re ready. Then place the coconut all over the cake.
  14. EAT!

 

One thought on “Chocolate & Coconut Cake

Leave a Reply

