Whole30: Week Four

What a ride.

While I was doing it, it seemed like it would never end. And now that it's done, it's like it was just a blink of an eye. I guess that's everything though.

Maybe I didn't appreciate the journey enough? And yet I have tons of reflection in my notebook about how awesome the entire thing was. Even in the times when it wasn't awesome. Those low points where you're out with friends and you realize there's literally nothing you can eat.

I'm really proud of myself.

I never say that. I never give myself credit. But I seriously did an amazing job. I didn't give in like I thought I would. And in week four, everyone asked me what I was so stoked to eat, and I couldn't think of a thing.

Don't get me wrong, I went to the store and bought a ton of candy…but once it was done I just didn't really want it. It's been five days and I've had things I couldn't have eaten while on whole30 but none of it has been as good as I had imagined it would be.

And isn't that just wild?

I've already learned a lot. Some I knew and some I didn't. Dairy and I aren't best friends. I pretty instantly get stuff up in my nose. My cheeks go red. My throat gets super itchy. I don't like fake flavors as much. My mango black tea just doesn't taste the same anymore. I'm quite pleased to have a larabar as a snack. I feel bloated much quicker when I eat junk.

Even crazier? I lost 16.7 pounds in a month. Do you know what that's done for my mental state? Do you know what cutting crap food has done for my mental state? Don't get me wrong, I still have down days, but overall (other than the first week) I've been much more positive. Much more accepting of what it means to be me. And that's just from food.

In the last week, I really pushed into food I knew I liked during this journey. I was starting to get bored with my options and I didn't want to fail. It was a great approach. It really worked in making sure I stayed committed.

When I started Whole30 I didn't expect anything I got out of it…even though the book was pretty damn clear. I'd pushed this off for about a year, and now I feel silly for having done so. And yet, I may not have been ready then. But I was ready to try to change my habits. And I did. And now I'm on a new journey… of figuring out how to get back into a new normal.

Leave a Reply

