Llama Trekking and Wine Drinking

I have been trying to do a llama trek with Divine Llama Vineyard for about a year now. I actually became extremely excited this season when they announced an online reservation system. Previously I had basically begged them via email to let me book a reservation, but they are always booked. I was able to put things into my own hands (and beg less) via their online booking.

Some friends of ours were coming into town so there was one specific weekend I was looking to book. Lucky for us there were four spots left. Definitely meant to be!

Fast forward several months and the weekend was finally upon us. We met at the tasting room on the property and were picked up to head out. First we went to see the baby llamas with their moms. Holy adorable. One of the llamas was two days old. I was basically in love.

Then we went to talk about some general safety tips and overall care of the llamas while hiking. After that it was time to choose our llama for the trek.

My boyfriend picked a llama named Merlot. I picked a llama named Rolling in the Dough. Both of our llamas were super chill. My llama embodied me and wanted to stop and eat every two steps. You end up trekking with your llama for a few hours, but the hike isn’t that far. At the halfway point you stop and take a break before you venture on back. The vineyard provides water and a snack.

We had an awesome time. The four of us felt like we bonded with our llamas. I took about a million pictures and pet my llama so much.

At the end we shared a few bottles of wine which was nice. The weather was on the cooler side so we were a bit chilly. On the way home I definitely passed out… possibly from the excitement or the wine… probably the wine.

I recommend checking it out. It’s a unique experience!

8 thoughts on “Llama Trekking and Wine Drinking

Leave a comment